Fangirling Filmography is Back, Now Named the Con Collective!



gif by charsawdeath on tumblr

Remember the Eklund Editorials, a deep dive into Michael Eklund’s filmography? I didn’t finish every project he worked on, and that largely came down to finding the content. It’s difficult to find Michael Eklund’s work being lesser-known projects and Canadian TV.

Still, I’m not giving up completely, and I kept the spreadsheet, so it might come back.

Instead, I’m changing gears and starting a new spreadsheet this time to watch everything Con O’Neill has done, which I’m calling the Con Collective Project.

Con Collective Project

Just like with Eklund, there will be weekly(ish) reviews of films and storylines in a fangirly, but critical way, as well as discussion of commonalities between roles. Actors often have trademark (or unconscious) habits or preferences in roles.

Oh, and there will also be lots of pictures and screencaps because like Eklund, Con is very talented and very attractive. You’re welcome.

There’s also a lot more content out there than in 2018 (!), so I’ll include anything else that fans have created (with credit).

Who is Con O’Neill?

Con is an award-winning English actor with a trademark voice (check out the video; yes, that is his actual voice). He has had a lengthy career as a character actor in comedies and dramas, playing memorable supporting characters, most of them appearing for only a few episodes.

He’s also featured in film and plays a few leading roles. When I was creating the spreadsheet for this project, I found quite a few similarities to Mark Sheppard, playing short-lived roles that stick with you long after the show is over.

Much like there was a lot of Wynonna Earp content for Michael Eklund, I really fell for Con’s work after seeing him as Izzy Hands (the guy in the gif at the top of the page), first mate to Blackbeard on the amazing TV show “Our Flag Means Death” (OFMD). The show is funny, heart-warming, inclusive, and so very queer in the best possible way. I’ll go into more detail in a separate blog post.

So, when I include videos where he’s talking as himself rather than a character, I’ll be including links to interviews/talking points from OFMD conventions.

Like this one:

Con discussing LGBTQ+ representation and how important voting is.

Aside from being a character actor, O’Neill is also very musical. There will be a lot of music in this project because he regularly takes on singing roles, having also performed on Broadway.

Let’s be honest; it’s no wonder shows keep bringing him in to sing because he is a helluva tenor.

Con O’Neill singing Dancin’ Thru the Dark and playing piano from his home in 2020.

This YouTube channel (Smoky_and_Husky) has a fantastic selection of Con singing in different roles. I’ll be linking to them as I go through the spreadsheet, but they’re worth checking out now.

Check out Con’s Instagram too, he reposts a lot of great fanworks
IG: oneill.con

Unlike the Eklund project, I decided to publish the spreadsheet I’m working from so people can join in or look into projects that seem interesting. It’s not fancy or pretty, but it calculates what’s left to watch and updates automatically.

Notes:

  • I’ll try to include as much information as possible for each show, including what platforms are streaming it or, in the case of older projects, where you can watch the scenes with Con.
  • Con’s Wikipedia entry is missing lots of entries in the filmography section. I’ve combined Wikipedia and IMDb to make up my spreadsheet.
  • I’ve excluded video game credits because that could easily turn this project into buying expensive games and attempting to play through them when I am not good at video games. If I come across a video with it, I’ll include it.
  • For numbers/Excel nerds: The watched completion rate is the total number of ‘yes’ divided by the total number of rows (shows). Each show/movie is treated equally rather than giving a higher weight to a show where he’s a leading cast member.

The Spreadsheet

I hope you’ll join me for the fun times ahead and take some time to consume some of Con’s work.

Leave a comment here or drop me a message on Twitter or IG @xanister. If Con (positively) acknowledges this project, I’ll be thrilled, but I’d really love to hear from people reading.


2 responses to “Fangirling Filmography is Back, Now Named the Con Collective!”

    • The response to this “launch” has been amazing, and I’m so happy you’re excited about it, too! He’s such a sweetheart and I can’t wait to watch all the things.

      Like

Leave a comment